dateslkak.blogg.se

Change my microsoft live account name
Change my microsoft live account name









I could sign-in to a Windows 10 PC-or, or Office 365, or my Xbox One, or whatever-with either or Same result.Įxcept, that is, for that weirdness I mentioned. This means that they are one and the same. So when I create my first Premium user account,, that account is really just an alias of my Let’s say that my Microsoft account’s primary alias is (It’s not.) And then I sign up for Premium using that account, and I configure it to use a custom domain called (also not real). Except that it introduces some weirdness. Put another way, every user on that new custom domain needs to already have a Microsoft account. That is, when you bring your own custom domain to the service, each email account you set up has to be configured as an alias for an existing Microsoft account. Though I agree that it’s a bit out-of-date looking, I don’t mind that this account has an email address back in January, I started testing Premium, which you may recall has some strange alias-related behavior. It’s what I use to sign-in to Windows 10 (when I do sign-in to Windows 10), and it’s the account I use with Office 365 Home,, (which for me is Premium now), Xbox, and so on.

change my microsoft live account name

My personal Microsoft account is over 15 years old, and it has an email address.

change my microsoft live account name

(It also means that you cannot use this method to share information between, or “combine,” two Microsoft accounts. This means, sadly, that you cannot use a second Microsoft account you may have an alias for the first. But that email must not have been already claimed by you or anyone else. You can create an alias using a Microsoft-type or email address. And by changing your primary alias, you can, in effect, update your online persona with a new identity. But aliases have uses that go beyond email. And many people use aliases to sign up for email newsletters so they can keep on top of spam. You can switch between your available aliases when sending email, for example. And they can include other email addresses, a phone number, or a Skype name (now deprecated).Īliases are most useful for email.

change my microsoft live account name

These aliases are alternate ways with which you can sign-in to you Microsoft account. It’s the way you sign-in to your Microsoft account and access the services that are associated with that account.īut Microsoft also lets you add other aliases to your Microsoft account. Making this change has interesting ramifications on how you sign-in to Windows 10 and access services such as OneDrive,, and Premium, among others.įirst, in Microsoft parlance, the email address that you first used to create your Microsoft account-probably at Hotmail or, but possibly at Xbox, Zune, Skype, or elsewhere-is considered your primary alias. Your Microsoft account supports multiple aliases, and you can assign one of them to be your primary alias at any time.











Change my microsoft live account name